CSCOPE Horror Stories

Print Friendly

CSCOPE horror stories from Texas Educators is represented by a Jack-0-Lantern.10.12.12 – CSCOPE HORROR STORIES

————————–

10.7.12 – From Donna Garner:

 I just had a teacher friend tell me tonight that the students who check into her high school and have been under CSCOPE do not have a clue as to the new terms and concepts found in the English / Language Arts / Reading curriculum standards (adopted in May 2008). She and the other English teachers are having to take these CSCOPE students and completely bring them up to speed, teaching them expository/persuasive writing, grammar, usage, literary analysis, etc.  – all the concepts that are now found on the new STAAR/End-of-Course tests.   

 ==========================

10-12-12 From a frustrated teacher

CSCOPE rigor amounts to foldables and posters for performance indicators. Students love crafts, but making posters and foldables in almost every class is boring. Plus, the performance indicators are just an easy grade and do not access what students have learned. 

==========================

 10.2.12 – From a teacher and taxpayer in Ector County ISD

 Here is a month old newspaper article that says that Ector County spent $1.7 million to expand CSCOPE this year. They couldn’t find the pennies necessary to provide the students with Zaner-Bloser handwriting books, but they were able to come up with over a million for something for which they have absolutely no need, or worse yet, something positively harmful. On top of that, the classrooms are full of textbooks that no one is using! More money wasted.

 http://www.oaoa.com/news/education/ecisd/article_98bbdf11-f50c-5370-9773-b39a999191f4.html?mode=jqm

=======================

Sent to Donna Garner from a parent 9.29.12:

Many of the teachers I have spoken with have also expressed their dissatisfaction with CSCOPE.  In our district, they no longer write the test for their kids.  The district actually delivers tests to them on test day and this is the first they see of the test.

 

The problem then becomes that they post the teachers name, along with an average of how their kids performed, in the teacher’s break room.  This is supposed to put pressure on teachers to make sure they are covering all of their objectives, etc.  The result however, is that my daughter’s teachers are actually giving the kids the answers to the test before they hand them out! (again, not that it matters, but she is in GT classes)

 

 

Since they had decided to end the use of text books, I asked to have access to the CSCOPE  website so that I could help my kids study at home.  I was denied a number of times, saying that they would have to purchase a license for me to gain access.  I persisted, and they eventually opened up a parent portal.  The parent portal is absolutely worthless, as I’m sure you know.  I’ve asked many times to see what exactly the teachers are using to prepare their lessons, and they say they cannot allow access to that portion of the curriculum.

 

=======================

10.6.12 — Note from Texas Educator – CSCOPE thread at http://www.txcscopereview.com/  —

I wanted to thank all of the people that are chatting on this thread for being so concerned about all of the students in our Texas schools who are being exposed to CSCOPE. 

 I am an experienced, veteran teacher who is distraught over the use of an unproven curriculum on such a wide spread basis.  Any curriculum materials affecting so many children should have undergone public review through our Texas State Board of Education. 

 I wanted to share some thoughts from the vantage point of a teacher who is currently being forced to use CSCOPE.  Moms, please do not count on your classroom teacher to protect your child.  Teachers today are fearful for their jobs in economic times where jobs for experienced teachers are hard to come by.  Teachers are told that they must use CSCOPE or risk the accusation that they are not a “team player.” Teaching jobs are political in nature and teachers who have attempted to speak out publicly before the school board have been fired.

  Teachers are so overworked with new mandates that many don’t have time to scrutinize the lessons.  We owe a debt of gratitude to Ginger and Janice Van Cleave who have taken the time to pore over lessons to find the blaring propagandization of our students. 

 My experience is that the lessons are riddled with errors.  The  lessons are not developmentally appropriate for the age student,  and they do not spiral properly up through the grade levels.  We now have students who have gone through elementary school using CSCOPE who are now deficient in platform skills such as basic geography, recall of mathematical facts, and the ability to write cohesively.  These students will never reclaim their formative years.

 

 School districts should be forced to public accountability on this issue by parents. 

The reasons given for CSCOPE implementation usually involve the need for a scope and sequence, which simply means that the teacher is told a timeline of what to teach and when to teach it. 

 

Texas schools had a scope and sequence for years, much better than CSCOPE. CSCOPE lessons are overly heavy in cut and paste activities and putting students into discussion groups to discuss topics that students have never studied before. 

  

The school claims that if a student moves from one place to another they can fall right in place with CSCOPE.  When you send your child to school you expect your child to benefit from the the teacher’s unique creativity and passion, right?  Well, that is deadened by the boring script we are expected to deliver using the bland CSCOPE lessons.  Yes, we are all supposed to be saying the same thing on the same day as if we are robots. 

 

 

There is no way for our students to achieve excellence in education with the widespread forced use of CSCOPE across our state.  As a taxpayer, the saddest fact is that while schools are throwing money to the wind purchasing CSCOPE each year, students are often going without field trips and instructional material that has quality and substance.

  

=========================

Comments by researcher, Ms. Mac, sent to Donna Garner on 10.6.12:

 Dear Pastor:

 Recently I was asked, as a researcher, to gather information about C-SCOPE, an educational program stated to be in over 800 Texas public school districts (Out of approximately 1200).  What I discovered is disturbing.  

 The founding experts for this program, as revealed on administrative training materials, include Humanist, Linda Darling-Hammond (who has signed a pledge to be good without God) and Marxist, Lev Vygotsky. 

 Lessons reflect a positive bias toward Islam and a negative bias toward Christianity.  Homework is discouraged so parents do not see the material.  Textbooks are also discouraged so there is no consistent reference to support or question.  Because this program is not reviewed by the State Board of Education, content is not scrutinized for quality or accuracy.

  

Ask your parishioners, who have children and grandchildren in the system, to demand clarity and explanation from school board members.  Sadly, teachers and parents are often not informed about the philosophy and radical foundation behind this program.   They have not been given an informed choice.  Do not take my word for it.  Investigate.  Dig.  Be persistent.  

 A new website entitled Texas CSCOPE Review http://www.txcscopereview.com   offers a venue to post your thoughts and findings as well as to read reports from other concerned Texans.


Currently there are multiple attacks on Christianity.  If we do nothing….we lose positive standing with our youth and the community at large.  If we do nothing…we give our stamp of approval.

 Sincerely,

Ms. Mac 

All Level Certified Teacher

Researcher

325-365-2048

Author bio: www.fortword.com

 ======================

From e-mail sent to Donna Garner on 10.4.12:

 This link from Texas Education Service Center 12 clearly shows a CSCOPE presentation (copyrighted 2012) that stresses balanced literacy and Lucy Calkins.  Under the newly adopted English / Language Arts / Reading (ELAR) curriculum standards (adopted in May 2008), Texas public schools are supposed to be teaching phonemic awareness and phonics (i.e., decoding skills) – not whole language and balanced literacy:

 http://www.esc12.net/primaryconf/documents/PkK_AngelaNeal_CSCOPE.pdf

  

Lucy Calkins is behind much of the writing workshop, personal essay, whole language, balanced literacy, social justice approach.  Read more about Lucy Calkins at: http://educationnext.org/the-lucy-calkins-project/ 

 http://www.cscope.us/docs/newsletters/1011/cscope_newsletter10-11_6thSixWeeks.pdf

 http://www.cscope.us/docs/conf_pres2010/Writers%20Workshop/writers_workshop_handout_k-2_3-5_doc1.pdf )

  These two links can be valuable tools to show how far off base the ESC’s are leading our Texas school districts – not emphasizing the direct, systematic instruction of phonemic awareness/decoding skills of Type #1 in the new ELAR/TEKS/STAAR-EOC’s but instead “the same old, same old” of the old TEKS/TAKS/Type #2.

 I believe that CSCOPE is not going to prepare our Texas students for the new STAAR/EOC’s because of misdirecting educators right back to the “old” TEKS.

 Please go to these articles to gain a full grasp of the differences between Type #1 and Type #2:


8.31.12 – “Better Days Lie Ahead for Texas Public Schools,” --http://libertylinked.com/posts/10062/better-days-lie-ahead-for/View.aspx

 ===============

5.13.12 — “Texans: Must Keep STAAR/End-of-Course Tests on Schedule” 

by Donna Garner –

 

http://libertylinked.com/posts/9847/texans-must-keep-staarend-of/View.aspx

 

============

5.24.12 — “City on a Hill Radio Program – “Two Philosophies of Education with Two Different End Games” — Interview by Diana Crews with Donna Garner

 http://libertylinked.com/posts/9879/interview-with-donna-garner/View.aspx

 =================

 3.29.12 — “STAAR-EOC Tests: Picking Alpha’s and Beta’s Brains” — by Donna Garner

 http://libertylinked.com/posts/9717/staar-eoc-tests—-picking/View.aspx

 

=========================

 3.26.12 – “Two Education Philosophies with Two Different Goals” – by Donna Garner –

http://libertylinked.com/posts/9703/2-education-philosophies-with/View.aspx

  

Donna Garner

Wgarner1@hot.rr.com

 

Share Button

Comments

  1. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing!
    Thanks!

  2. School Marm says:

    This week in our schoosl we are testing –benchmarking–for the upcoming STAAR and EOC’s, and guess what our instructional leaders have decided to use?
    Cscope’s Curriculum Assessment. Only a few teachers(new, fresh off the college wagon) have been given access to the source, and have been told to make copies for each grade level for curriculum assessment. Let’s back up a minute. Last year this same type of benchmarking took place before the Christmas break using Cscope. Our curriculum director was loopy and angry because she had been demoted from principal to curriculum director. She spent days running off assessments for both the elementary and secondary schools. (We’re small, rural). On the day of the test, my secondary students began to complain that they couldn’t find the answer to the question in the multiple choice selections (ABCD or FGHJ). Looking over the reading selection, the questions and answers, I saw that the students were right! No correct answers! Then we found gaps in reading selections. When the students were to use two selections to compare (parallel), one selection would be there, a visual would be next, but no other selection. It was madness. By lunch time our students were frustrated and playing eeny meeny miny mo to select answers. Teachers heard it through the grapevine that the elementary principal had checked into the same problem and when 3 teachers came to him about the gaps and misinformation in the assessment documents, he called a HALT to the testing immediately. I played sick the next day so I wouldn’t have to administer another ridiculous test. Under our breath we blamed the loopy curriculum director for not knowing how to make copies. She even apologized to several of us, saying she was trying to save paper by printing on both sides. Her contract was not renewed so she is gone. I almost feel like I should call her and apologize back! Why? The new teachers given access to the tests so they could feel important did not know about last year’s mess! They ran off copies of each designated test as ordered for each student taking STAAR, EOC, and even a few TAKS testers. Yesterday the student took ELA…Get this: The answer document had 49 answer slots. The test only had 48 questions. Of the 48, there were nine huge errors ranging from missing an entire selection–although there were 4 questions pertaining only to the missing reading passage–to questions about vocabulary not found in the selections. It was an insult. NINE HUGE ERRORS.
    The first selection was two pages long and had one question to answer. Then , near the end of the test was one question (#25) that did not pertain to the reading selection. In fact, the question was the exact same question as #1! I reported these errors and documented them. The instructional leader was miffed because the egg was on his face. The new teachers were just downright embarrassed because the errors so obviously pointed out that they didn’t even bother to overview the tests. Today was Math Assessment. The math teachers found problems too. Several questions had two correct answers but no way to mark it. I told the students to mark both answers anyway. (Bubble in A and D). Then I reported it. Tomorrow is Science and the next is Social Studies. This isn’t assessment; this is a waste of time, waste of money, and as the commercials say…”A MIND IS A TERRIBLE THING TO WASTE”. Cscope–you have failed the test. Thank goodness I have a wealth of instructional materials, most of them designed by me, I use to prepare my students for state assessments. They are very successful and I’m proud of them; however, I still play the game with Cscope by following their sequence (year at a glance), but I mix it up and teach my heart out. I haven’t cracked the Cscope manual this year.

    • Thank you very much for this information. As more teachers present facts about CSCOPE and more parents ask about the curriculum, the sooner it will be removed . The CSCOPE directors are having a hard time redesigning the CSCOPE image to cover all of its many flaws.
      CSCOPE was never intended to be anything more than what it is–a flawed set of lessons and assessments designed to frustrate teachers and discourage children.

      We cannot depend on the state to fix this problem unless parents and other patriots continue to pressure them.

  3. midlanddefender says:

    I have only begun to check out Cscope, but if what they say that parents cannot view what their children are being taught, then that is really all anybody needs to know. If government will not tell you what your children are being taught at school then there is something wrong. Would you allow a stranger to come to your homse and take your children out for ice cream? NO! Then why would you allow the government to teach you children an agenda kept secret?
    Why does this thing need to be pushed? If was successful and valuable, what better way to promote it than to allow everyone to see how well it works?

    And another issue is why are computers constantly pushed on all of this? Because they can control the resutls or better surveil you? I wonder. Cscope is the same secret agenda stuff that government is typically pushing. Compare their words with their documents and the results. They seldom match.

  4. Cscope is all about indoctrination or our children. They start with kindergarten thru 12 teaching and re-programing them that we are going to run out of resources. It is all about eliminating world poverty and redistribution of wealth. They have to scare the teachers into not speaking our for fear that the “CRAP” that is in there will be exposed. Cscope is all about intimidating teachers, eliminate parents and indoctrinatingthe children

  5. This website is full of misinformation and produces ZERO data supporting the claims of its authors. CSCOPE is not a perfect product, but it is no more “evil” than the state standards it supports. essentially, if you don’t support state standards, then you won’t support a curriculum that organizes those standards.

    • It is mind-boggling to hear everyone who works in a Cscope district talk about the militant way in which Cscope is pushed. I feel Ike I’ve stepped into an alternate universe where all teachers are lazy and must be forced to do their job which is to force feed instruction at a pace dictated by an ill conceived, poorly executed excuse for curriculum. This can’t seriously be considered a worthwhile product when the “customers” must be forced to use it. Also, there must be some Cscope training in which, lacking a way to force teachers to take daily doses of Soma, administrators are told to enforce strict rules against speaking out against Cscope. The unit tests are pulled from Webcat which was developed while our state test was still TAAS. We’re preparing kids to master higher level thinking skills by rushing them through topics and presenting unit tests that ask the lowest level of questions while labeling all of it as “rigorous”. I dream of a future in which we can look back and say, “Remember when so many districts WERE using militant tactics to force teachers to use that asinine curriculum? What was it called again? And who were those people who were held accountable for buying it? Oh yea, and WHO WAS GETTING RICH OFF OF IT? We all knew something was fishy!”. For now, the nightmare continues.

Speak Your Mind

*